MU Graduate James Querry Inducted into Blood Donation Hall of Fame

MANSFIELD, PA— James Querry, who graduated from Mansfield University last spring, returned to campus on November 18 to be inducted into the Fenwal Blood Donation Hall of Fame for 2015.

In April, Querry was named as Volunteer of the Year by the Community Blood Bank (CBB) of Northwest Pennsylvania and Western New York, which made him eligible for the Hall of Fame honor.James Querry (center) with Anthony Montemurro of Fresenius Kabi (immediate left), MU President Fran Hendricks (immediate right) and members of the MU Council of Trustees. Anthony Montemurro of Fresenius Kabi, the global health care company that sponsors the Hall of Fame, made the presentation to Querry with MU President Fran Hendricks, members of the MU Council of Trustees and other Mansfield officials and friends looking on.

Montemurro praised Querry’s success as student donor chair at MU, pointing out that he did such an outstanding job that CBB created best practices and the position of the student donor chair/liaison, modeled on Querry’s efforts, for other schools to implement and use as a guide.

“On behalf of Fresenius Kabi and Community Blood Bank (CBB) of Northwest Pennsylvania and Western New York, I want to thank you, James, for selflessly donating blood and organizing blood drives at Mansfield to help save and improve the lives of countless people,” Montemurro said. “Your passion and commitment is an inspiration to us all.”James QuerryQuerry graciously accepted the honor and thanked Lora Cope, CBB Mobile Drive coordinator, for her guidance and support. He also thanked his brothers in Phi Sigma Kappa and challenged them to keep the blood drives going.

In addition, Querry thanked the Office of Greek Life, headed by Associate Director of Student Life Mary Beth Kollar, the Student Affairs Division, the Mansfield Inter-Fraternity and Panhellenic Councils and all the Greek organizations for their support of CBB Blood Drives at MU.

Mansfield Sorority Receives National Honor

  • July 24, 2015

  • MANSFIELD, PA—The Mansfield University chapter of Alpha Sigma Alpha (ΑΣΑ), Delta Epsilon, has received the Aspire Award from its national organization.Alpha Sigma Alpha 2014-15The honor is given to sorority chapters that have shown a commitment to each other, their chapter and the national organization by upholding the high ideals of the sorority, which, according to their website, include inspiring women to lead, to serve and most of all to make a difference.

    “Out of over 90 active collegiate Alpha Sigma Alpha chapters nationwide, Mansfield University’s Delta Epsilon chapter was one of eight chapters to receive this honor,” Audriana Marmuscak, Delta Epsilon advisor and assistant director of Admissions, said.

    Alpha Sigma Alpha members for the 2014-15 academic year are: Keri Aldinger, Danielle Catherman, Caitlyn Daly, Courtney Ditchey, Kortney Dively, Samantha Dixon, Elissa Donovan, Lori Engle, Bethanie Fern, Ashley Follett, Rhiannon Gray, Alana Greenawalt, Megan Gronwaldt, Kaitlin Gross, Tiffany Haas, Kathryn Haywood, Aryn Hedrick, Stephanie Hendricks, Erica Henry, Madeline Jenkins, Alexandria Kaluzny, Felisha Lewis, Nicole Lovell, Sara Mirra, Emily Moodie, Katelyn Moreheart, Morgan Outhouse, Madison Rhodes, Lindsey Rodbourn, Sydni Rosenberg, Allison Rosito, Chelsea Smith, Nicole Smyth, Brianna Walker, Melissa Wiles, Kelsy Woodman and Kate Younkin.