Calendar of Events


 

TRiO STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES

FALL 2015 WORKSHOP SCHEDULE

Workshops

Date & Time

Location

Using Technology 101- Focus on WebAdvisor and TutorTrac.  Freshman REQUIRED

9/3/15 Thurs
11:30am-12:30pm

Memorial 103
Jodi Powley

Time Management- Learn skills, tools, and tips that will help manage your time and be more effective. 

Thurs 9/10/15 
11:30am-12:30pm

Doane Blue Room
Catherine Mulcahey

FLOW- How to Make Your Papers Flow: Writing better papers means gettign better grades.. 

9/15/15 Tues
5-6pm

Alumni 312
Jimmy Guignard

Interpersonal Relationships- Learn how to develop relationships using trust and positive feelings. 

9/23/15 Wed
4-5pm

Alumni 312
Danielle Jackson

Note Taking for Test Taker- Learn how to take notes for testing.

9/24/15 Thurs
4-5pm

Doane Blue Room
Joe Kalata

Text Book Navigation- How to read for comprehension.  Freshman REQUIRED

Tues 9/29/15
11:30-12:30pm

Doane Blue Room
Jodi Powley

Course Registration- Gen Ed Requirements and WebAdvisor. Freshman REQUIRED

10/6/15 Tues
11:30-12:30pm

Memorial 103
Joe Kalata

Good Eats Nutrition- Change your eating habits to improve your overall quality of life! MUST RVSP

10/8/15 Thurs
5-7pm

Elliot 217
Kathy Wright

Cultural Foods- Learn new exciting food of different cultures.
MUST RVSP 

10/14/15 Wed
5-7pm

Elliot 217
Haley Frischkorn

Course Registration- Gen Ed Requirements and Webadvisor. 

10/15/15 Thurs
11:30-12:30pm

Memorial 103
Joe Kalata

Financial Literacy- Learn the ins and outs of Financial Aid from the Director of Financial Aid and also learn about credit and budgeting and ow to get the biggest bang for your buck from Dave Sikorski of PSECU MUST RSVP-dinner included Freshman and Senior REQUIRED

10/21/15 Wed
4:30-7:30pm
4:30-5:30pm-Dave
5:30-6:30pm-F/A
6:30-7:30pm-Dinner

Alumni 307
John Szentesy
Charles Scheetz
Dave Sikorski

Self-Defense w/ Vince Nance- Learn how to protect yourself from an attack, strategies in self-defense. 

Tues 3/17/15
6-8pm

KFC Gym 
Vince/Annette

Mock interview/Resume- Join Nichole Lefelhoc in exploring new ideas to make your life easier when interviewing for your next job and making sure your resume is in tip top shape!

10/26/15 Mon
4-6pm

Alumni 312
Nichole Lefelhoc

Leadership Symposium PT 1- Let your inner leader emerge! Learn about your core strengths and experience other students who want to work together to achieve a common goal. MUST RSVP  

TBA

GA/Staff

Conflict Management

11/2/15 Mon
4-5pm

Doane Blue Room
Curt Fuhram GA

Critical Thinking- The ability to apply reasoning and logic to unfamiliar ideas and situations.

11/11/15 Wed
4-5pm

Alumni 312
Adrianne McEvoy

GRE Standarized Testing- Senior REQUIRED

11/12/15 Thurs
4-5pm

Doane Blue Room
Joe Kalata

Graduate School Planning- Learn about Grad school options.  Juniors REQUIRED

11/17/15 Tues
11:30-12:30pm

Doane Blue Room
Staff/GA?

Financial Aid Repayment- Learn about the best ways for repayment on FA.  Senior REQUIRED

11/19/15 Thurs
11:30-12:30pm

Alumni 312
John Szentesy
Charles Scheetz

THANKSGIVING BREAK-NO CLASSES

11/25-11/27 Wed-Fri

No Classes

Stress Management- Learn how to manage stress during finals week!

12/2/15 Wed
4-5pm

Doane Blue Room
Jodi Powley

TRiO Student Support Services

FALL 2015 ACTIVITIES Schedule


Activities

Date & Time

Location

Dine and Discuss- Join TRiO staff and students to visit in Upper Manser.

Must RSVP If you need a meal ticket

9/1/15 Tues
11:30-1pm

Upper Manser
Staff

Crosscutters Baseball Game- Take me out to the ballgame! Williamsport plays State College.
MUST RSVP Limited Seats

9/7/15 Mon
1:00pm

Doane
PU
Mentors/2 vans

DIY- Do It Yourself coffee mugs with Imannie!

9/17/15 Thurs
5:30-7pm

Doane Blue Room
Imannie Richardson

TRiO Adopt-A-Highway- Give back to Mansfield bike trail along the Tioga River. MUST RSVP

9/20/15 Sun
2-4pm

Mentors
Staff
2 Vans

Bike Trailing- Enjoy a relaxing and energetic ride through the Mansfield bike trail along the Tioga River. MUST RSVP

9/27/15 Sunday
2-5pm

KFC-Bikes
Ryan Shissler

Grand Canyon Cook-Out- Hike the Canyon and cook-out with the mentors and staff.

10/4/15 Sunday
12-4pm

Mentors
Staff
2 Vans

Hamilton Gibson Productions Presents: Dracula
MUST RSVP

10/29/15 tHURS
7:30PM

Doane PU
Kalata/Mase
2 Vans

Dine & Discuss-Eat with TRiO students and staff in Upper Manser. You know you want to...
MUST RSVP IF YOU NEED A MEAL TICKET

12/3/15 Tues
11:30-1pm

 

Upper Manser
TRiO Staff

Hamilton Gibson Productions Presents: A Christmas Carol
MUST RSVP - LIMITED SEATS

12/6/15 Sun
1:30-5pm
Showtime: 2:30pm
(570-724-2079)

Kalata/Mase
Staff
2 Vans